top of page
2024 Florida Preservation Awards
Florida Trust for Historic Preservation unveils refreshed awards program
to better celebrate Florida’s diverse history


Nuestra Senora de los Remedios1.JPG

The St. Augustine Archaeological Investigation of Nuestra Señora de los Remedios in St. Augustine received an award in the category of Archaeology in 2019.


Newtown Conservation Historic District in Sarasota received an award for its oral history project in the category of Preservation Education/Media in 2018.

Nominations for the 2024 Florida Preservation Awards are now open!

Every year, the Florida Trust for Historic Preservation recognizes outstanding historic preservationists, organizations, programs or preservation achievements that have made a significant impact in preserving Florida’s history and heritage with the prestigious Florida Preservation Awards.


At its core, the Florida Preservation Awards program aims to inspire and encourage a culture of preservation throughout Florida. By shining a spotlight on outstanding projects and individuals, the program not only recognizes past achievements but also serves as a catalyst for future endeavors. It seeks to foster a sense of pride and responsibility among Floridians, encouraging them to become stewards of their local history and cultural heritage.

Exciting updates

Reflecting its commitment to diversity and inclusion in preservation, the Florida Trust is proud to introduce updates to the Florida Preservation Awards program. In recognition of the financial challenges that individuals and organizations face, the usual submission fee has been waived, ensuring that the program is accessible to all who wish to participate.

The Awards Program has also introduced three new award categories to recognize the wide range of contributions to historic preservation:

  • The Preserving Place Award acknowledges placemaking and placekeeping efforts, such as oral history projects, heritage trails, Main Street programs and more;

  • The Volunteer of the Year Award honors the dedication and passion of individuals who generously donate their time and expertise to preservation projects;

  • The Historic Preservation Scholar Award recognizes outstanding academic research and scholarship in the field of historic preservation, encouraging and supporting the next generation of preservation leaders.


Read the Preservation Awards Nomination Guide and learn more about the program!

Help is available!

The nomination process is easy - but if you need help, you can always reach out to Dafni Kirkpatrick at or call (850) 224-8128.

Nominations will remain open until April 4, 2024 (deadline extended).

Bert at Top of Jupiter Light .jpg

Florida Trustee Emeritus Bert Bender received the Florida Trust Board Legacy Award in 2021.

bottom of page